Drink Your Greens

Screen Shot 2015-01-16 at 09.04.52Screen Shot 2015-01-16 at 21.01.36

Every now and again I like to enjoy healthy juice or smoothie blends that also offer a good detox for my body. Whether it’s to stay hydrated, recover from a workout, or up my energy levels, I always turn to a delicious juice or smoothie.

When I’m busy and don’t have much time to prepare my own, Press is my personal favorite to have delivered to my doorstep. Many other companies also offer this service.

I love preparing my own juices and smoothies- it’s healthier, fresher, less expensive, and can be made to my exact liking. Below are a handful of easy, quick and tasty juice and smoothie recipes for you to try:

Green Detox pressed juice (Recipe from Popsugar)

  • 1 Handful of spinach
  • 1 Handful of watercress
  • ½ Lemon, peeled
  • 1 Celery stalk
  • 2 Apples
  • 1 Inch slice of ginger

Raw beet smoothie (Recipe from Spinach Tiger)

  • 1 Red beet
  • 1 Small apple
  • 1/2 Orange peeled
  • Handful of frozen berries
  • Handful of kale
  • 1/2 Cup ice
  • 1/2 Cup iced water

Based on my personal preferences, I have created a few of my own:

Green smoothie

  • ½ Cup of kale or spinach
  • ½ Cup of coconut water
  • ½ Cup of berries
  • 10 Almonds
  • Tablespoon of flaxseed
  • Tablespoon of chia seeds

Post workout smoothie

  • ½ Cup of coconut Water
  • 1 Banana
  • 1 Scoop protein powder

Recipe Nutrient Facts: There is a range of nutrients present in the leafy vegetables and brassicas used in the recipes above. Here’s a list of my favourite ingredients and their nutritional benefits:

  • Kale is packed with beta-carotene, calcium, vitamin C and vitamin K. (Source)
  • Beets are a great source of iron, potassium, magnesium, folic acid and vitamins A, C and B6. It’s also full of anti-oxidants. The iron available in beets is good to beat fatigue and increase energy. (Source)
  • Ginger contains chromium, magnesium, and zinc- Key ingredients to maintain healthy and normal blood flow. Ginger is also known for being effective in alleviating stomach discomfort. (Source)

 

2 thoughts on “Drink Your Greens

Leave a Reply

